It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Features almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans--many not found in any other reference source.
Contains the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry's 'Bars Fights', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI), a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Covers news, culture and history of ethnic and minority issues (English/Espanol) in over 200 publications, minority and native press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals.
Articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.
Historical Los Angeles Times offers completely searchable full text and full image coverage from 1881-1994. It gives quick and accurate Web access to articles, editorials, classified ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps, and graphics. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue. For electronic access to current Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present, use Los Angeles Times (1985-present).
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Data (1790-2000) include history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. The database is fully searchable and downloadable.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery (SAS): A Transnational Archive, Parts 1, II, III and IV is a collection devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
The collection offers available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities. For a detailed archives included in the collection, please check the Archive material list.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection includes 124 document projects or archives and 5,100 documents and 180,000 pages of additional full-text sources, written by more than 2,800 primary authors.
It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. It continues to grow with two new issues/releases annually.
