LibGuides: LBS 3860: Gender in Science: Find Sources

Introduction

What's on this page?

Databases, journals, and websites that you can use to find a variety books, journals, and more. If you need a refresher on what databases and journals are, click here for more information.
OneSearch the Library Catalog you can use to search for books, articles, and more.
Interlibrary Loan - a way to request articles and books and library doesn't have access to.

What's the best way to search databases?

It's good practice to use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to build your search. Click here to see some example of how you can use Boolean Operators.

Databases with Journals and eBooks

Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection includes 124 document projects or archives and 5,100 documents and 180,000 pages of additional full-text sources, written by more than 2,800 primary authors.
It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. It continues to grow with two new issues/releases annually.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issue and Identities This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Issues and Identities provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. The Archive material list provides details about materials included.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI), a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents about the Gay Rights Movement with resources.
Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.For a detailed title list, please check the Archives title list.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 14 million peer-reviewed publications..
Features:
- Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier. At CSULA our use of this database permits access to over 900 Elsevier journals in full-text online format
- The 900 full-text journals represent all Elsevier journals currently under (print) subscription at all CSU and University of California libraries. These libraries represent the consortium which negotiated this ScienceDirect database subscription. We are not permitted full-text access to the remaining 200 Elsevier journal titles in this collection, but users can retrieve citations and abstracts from these journals using the collection's search interface
- Coverage: Varies from January 1995 - the present; most titles are from 1998 - the present
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine, health, and much more. Includes articles, reviews, biographical sketches, and letters to the editor.
Articles include general science publications such as Science, Nature, Discover, and The Sciences as well as the core periodicals for the subjects mentioned above.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data dating back to 1970. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Scopus Information site contains a wealth of resources including:
• User guides and tips
• Title lists
• Quick tips and Frequently Asked Questions

For more information, visit:
• Scopus LibGuide
• Scopus Blog
• Scopus Search - Tips & Tricks
• Scopus Webinars
• Scopus APIs

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles in over 600 periodicals in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983

The journal of gender, race, and justice
Men and Masculinities
Gender & Society
History of Science
The British journal for the history of science
Sex Roles
Social Studies of Science
Coverage includes 1975 to 2015.

Ebook Central Proquest This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central Proquest includes CSU system-wide shared Academic Complete collection of over 180,000 titles as well as campus purchased titles covering multidisciplinary topics.
ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities eBooks is a digital collection of over 5400 full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with nineteen learned societies and nearly 100 contributing publishers. The collection contains searchable full-text contents in historical studies, art history, literature, political science, religion, and primary sources.

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.

University Library

LBS 3860: Gender in Science

Librarian

Introduction

Databases with Journals and eBooks

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan