LibGuides: Mathematics Education: Databases &amp; Journals

Databases

Academic Search Complete
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
JSTOR
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
Education Full Text
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Teacher Reference Center
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles about teaching and education. Topics covered include assessment, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, literacy standards, pedagogical research, school administration, and more.

arXiv.org
arXiv includes electronic pre-prints from the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, statistics, economics, and more.

MathSciNet
Find abstracts, citations, and reviews of scholarly mathematical literature.
JSTOR
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
ScienceDirect
Peer-reviewed articles and ebooks in a wide range of the sciences and social sciences.

Numdam, French Digital Mathematics Library
This library includes journal articles, seminars, conference proceedings, books, and doctoral thesis.
The Jahrbuch Project Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
This archive includes the literature on "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942) and digitized mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.
European Digital Mathematics Library (EuDML)
You can browse by journal or search for specific topics. Many of the resources here include free full-text.
more...less...
EuDML was formed with a network of universities and publishers and is supported by a number of partners including the European Mathematical Society.

Journals

The College Mathematics Journal
This journal includes articles, problems, solutions, and media reviews. The Mathematical Association of America publishes this journal.
Community College Journal of Research & Practice
"The journal is a multidisciplinary forum for researchers and practitioners in higher education and the behavioral and social sciences. It promotes an increased awareness of community college issues by providing an exchange of ideas, research, and empirically tested educational innovations."
Curriculum Inquiry
"It is dedicated to studies of educational experience in schools, communities, families, and other local or transnational settings, using a range of theoretical and disciplinary approaches."
Educational Studies in Mathematics
"It seeks to reflect both the variety of research concerns within this field and the range of methods used to study them. It deals with didactical, methodological and pedagogical subjects, rather than with specific programmes for teaching mathematics."
International Journal of Science & Mathematics Education
Includes articles on various topics and research methods in both science and mathematics education addressing common issues, including cross-curricular dimensions.
International Journal of STEM Education
Topics in this journal include the design and implementation of technology-rich learning environments, innovative pedagogies, and curricula in STEM Education that promote successful learning in Pre K-16 levels including teacher education.
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education (JRME)
JRME includes research at all levels - preschool through college. Research focuses on inquiry into the teaching and learning of mathematics.
Journal of Mathematical Sciences & Mathematical Education (MSME)
MSME publishes on current findings, issues, and concerns regarding mathematical sciences and mathematics education.
Journal of Mathematics Education
Indonesian Mathematical Society journal on mathematics education
Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education (JMTE)
JMTE is focused on the research that seeks to improve the education of mathematics teachers and develop teaching methods that better enable mathematic students to learn.
Journal of Urban Mathematics Education
The Journal of Urban Mathematics Education (JUME) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, academic journal published twice a year. The mission of the journal is to foster a transformative global academic space in mathematics that embraces critical research, emancipatory pedagogy, and scholarship of engagement in urban communities. Here, the view of the urban domain extends beyond the geographical context, into the lives of people within the multitude of cultural, social, and political spaces in which mathematics teaching and learning takes place.
The Mathematics Educator
Its purpose is to promote the interchange of ideas among the mathematics education community, locally, nationally, and internationally and to present a variety of viewpoints on a broad spectrum of issues related to mathematics education.
The Mathematics Teacher
The Mathematics Teacher (MT), an official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, is devoted to improving mathematics instruction from grade 8-14 and supporting teacher education programs.
Philosophy of Mathematics Education
This journal publishes articles relevant to the philosophy of mathematics education.
Urban Education
Articles cover topics such as mental health needs of urban students, student motivation and teacher practice, school-to-work programs and community economic development, restructuring in large urban schools and health and social services.

The American Mathematical Monthly
The Monthly publishes articles, as well as notes and other features, about mathematics and the profession. Its readers span a broad spectrum of mathematical interests, and include professional mathematicians as well as students of mathematics at all collegiate levels.
Mathematical Intelligencer
This journal includes articles about mathematics and the history and culture of mathematics. Articles available from 1993 to present (with 12 month delay).
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Magazine is published by the Mathematical Association of America and includes a high variety of topics i.e., original mathematics and historical content.
Mathematics Magazine and the College Math Journal Search
This tool allows you to search both the Mathematics Magazine and the College Math Journal. This search tool is provided by The Math Department at Harvey Mudd College.
The Mathematical Gazette
This journal is published by The Mathematical Association and covers from 1894 to 2013. The focus of this journal is the teaching and learning of mathematics.

Bulletin: Journal of the British Society for the History of Mathematics
Journal access is available from 2006 to 2017.
Historia Mathematica
"A publication of the International Commission on the History of Mathematics of the Division of the History of Science of the International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science."
Archive for History of Exact Sciences
Access available from 1960 onward, excluding the most recent 3 years.

Project Euclid
Project Euclid provides a list of currently open and freely available journal titles.
Frontier in Applied Mathematics and Statistics

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. No registration is required, only your My Cal State LA credentials.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.

Mathematics Education

Librarian

Databases

Journals

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan FAQ