LibGuides: Children's Literature: Books, authors, illustrators

Find information about authors and their works

Children's books in the Cal State LA library

The University Library has a children's book collection located on Level 3 North.

Search OneSearch to locate books by author and/or title. Use the Advanced Search if you want to find children's books in Spanish or in other languages, and/or children's books on a particular topic.

The collection is divided between fiction and non-fiction using the Dewey Decimal Classification System. There is no separate children's reference book collection. The 92's shelved at the beginning of the collection are biographies of individuals. Biographies about multiple persons are shelved in the 920's toward the end of the Dewey call number range.

Books about children’s literature are shelved in the circulating collection arranged by Library of Congress Classification.

Diversity in Children's / YA Literature

Finding children's books on the Web

A Book and a Hug
Searchable database of books to help young readers find books and authors they might like (e.g., Read Alikes). Also includes lesson plans and literature for curricula areas.
Caldecott Medal
Named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, it is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This site includes a list of past Caldecott winners and honor books and a list of the Caldecott books that have been translated into other languages.
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project
Multimedia and audiobooks for early and advanced readers. Includes non-English language books.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
Established in 1963, is a unique gathering place for books, ideas, and expertise in the field of children's and young adult literature. It is a noncirculating examination, study, and research library for Wisconsin school and public librarians, teachers, early childhood care providers, university students, and others interested in children's and young adult literature.
Funbrain
Created for kids ages preschool through grade 8, offers more than 100 fun, interactive games that develop skills in math, reading, and literacy.
Houston Area Independent Schools Library Network Lists
The Houston Area Independent Schools Library Network reading list includes titles of books (fiction and non-fiction) that are evaluated annually and compiled by librarians. They are arranged by grade levels from preschool through 12th grade.
International Children's Digital Library
This site is in progress. It is a five year international project that began late 2002 and is intended to be a digital library freely available to children worldwide. More than 10,000 children's books from more than 100 cultures will be included eventually.
International Literacy Association Reading Lists
Each year, thousands of children, young adults, and educators around the United States select their favorite recently published books for the Choices reading lists. These lists are used in classrooms, libraries, and homes to help readers of all ages find books they will enjoy. The annotated lists for the current year are posted online in May, aligning with Children's Book Week, and are available for free download.
Internet Archive Children's Library
Books for children from around the world.
Literature for Children (State Univ. Libraries of Florida)
Provides Internet access to over 550 high quality digitized children’s literature titles, pre-1850 to post-1950. The collection focuses on literature from the U. S. and Britain. Uses may browse alphabetically by title or author.
Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) Kids Path
Created by the Los Angeles Public Library, this web site includes reading lists by grade level, award winning books lists, the California Reading List, LAPL Children's Literature book list, recommended books by grade level, and more.
Newbery Medal
Named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery, this is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. This site includes a list of past Newbery winners and honor books and a list of the Newbery books that have been translated into other languages.
Orbis Pictus Nonfiction Award (NCTE)
The National Council of Teachers of English, through the Committee on the Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children, has established an annual award and up to five honor books for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. The name Orbis Pictus, commemorates the work of Johannes Amos Comenius, Orbis Pictus—The World in Pictures (1657), considered to be the first book actually planned for children.
Recommended Literature Search - CA Dept. of Education
Developed and maintained by the California Department of Education this web site allows the user to create a customized reading list by grade level, language, culture, genre, classification, curriculum connections, or awards. Results may be sorted by title or author.
Starfall
A learn-to-read website offered free as a public service. Primarily designed for first grade, but also useful for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and second grade.
Storyline Online
The SAG-AFTRA Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image.
TeachingBooks
YALSA's Best of the Best
Search for award-winning books for teens.

Children's Literature

Find information about authors and their works

Children's books in the Cal State LA library

Diversity in Children's / YA Literature

Finding children's books on the Web

Finding books at public libraries