LibGuides: Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: CLS 3770 --Environmental Justice: Scholarly Research

Schoarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Comprised of 600 scholarly and general interest titles in index and abstract format, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. Coverage: 1913-current.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary field, where solutions to real-world issues lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies, and policy. This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues.
OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Studies & Policy Collection provides access to more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management and more.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Offers original articles on current events and public affairs.
Your complete source on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles in over 600 periodicals in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
As well as journals, WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews of books and other media, and dissertations. Cited references have been included for many articles from the core journal literature added to the database since 2001. Records are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.

Subject Coverage:
- Comparative politics
- Developing nations
- Disarmament
- Economic policy
- Electoral systems
- Environmental policy
- Government/Political systems
- History and theory of political science
- International relations/trade
- Labor relations
- Military policy
- Methodology and research technology
- Political behavior
- Political economy
- Political psychology
- Politics and law
- Politics and communication
- Politics and religion
- Politics and society
- Public administration
- Security and defense
- Welfare systems
Update FrequencyMonthly. Approximately 20,000 new records added per year.

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, Chicano Database is a bibliographic index covering a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants from 1992 onward.
Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
HAPI This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, documents, reviews, bibliographies, original literary works, and other items in over 400 journals published throughout the world containing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Coverage: 1970-present

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers history of the United States and Canada from 1493. It indexes over 1,800 journals and Ph.D. dissertations including book reviews. Its Clio Notes provide guides on key topics in United States history and allow you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes from the Colonization of America to the 21st Century.
Coverage: 1895-present
In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Data (1790-2000) include history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. The database is fully searchable and downloadable.
Early American Imprints, Series 1: Evans 1693-1800 This link opens in a new window
Contains searchable books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that enables you to quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
Statista
Statista provides statistics and data on over 1 million statics and facts from more than 10,000 different sources, including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and more. The content is geared toward business and marketing statical needs, with a focus on current statistics.

Books & eBooks

Locating eBooks in OneSearch

After submitting a search, use the filters on the left side under "Available at Cal State LA" to narrow your search to Full-Text Online, and Books under Resource Type (you may have to click show more to see books).

Under "Full text available at," click the link to access the book. Check the user options- some books have unlimited access, but others can only be used by one person at a time and may require you to check back after the other reader has left the book.

Peer Review

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Sometimes called scholarly, peer-reviewed, or academic, these terms all refer to journals that require review by a group of experts in the field before an article can be published. These experts are looking for things like appropriate methodology, proper research and citations, advancements to the field, etc. These articles are typically for other scholars with a high level of knowledge in the area of publication. The purpose is typically to advance the field of study and share developments made by scholars.

Look for the option in databases to narrow your search by peer-reviewed or scholarly.

Learn more about the process video from the University of Kansas: Peer Review In Three Minutes

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.

Be sure to link Google Scholar to the Cal State LA Library to get free access to many library resources.

To access the library resources, click on the links in the right-hand column, like Find it @ CalState LA.

University Library

Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: CLS 3770 --Environmental Justice