LibGuides: Asian & Asian American Studies: Books & eBooks

eBooks

Locating eBooks in OneSearch

After submitting a search, use the filters on the left side under "Available at Cal State LA" to narrow your search to Full-Text Online, and Books under Resource Type (you may have to click show more to see books).

Under "Full text available at," click the link to access the book. Check the user options- some books have unlimited access, but others can only be used by one person at a time and may require you to check back after the other reader has left the book.

Request Books (CSU+)

CSU+

You can request physical books be sent to the library from other Cal State campuses and libraries around the country. This service also includes digital access to single book chapters and electronic articles from institutions sent to you as PDFs. CSU+ is a free service and students and faculty may request as many items as you like!

In OneSearch, use the drop-down to expand your results to CSU Collections and Beyond
For items that are listed as "request from another library," log into your library account using your MyCalStateLA info to request the book
You will be notified by email when the item is ready for pick up
If you get a cancellation email, try our back-up service Interlibrary Loan.

Theses and Dissertations

The library keeps a copy of all the masters theses that have been written by CSULA students. Print copies prior to 2012 are available in Archives and Special Collections, and digital theses beginning Fall Quarter 2011 are available in ScholarWorks.

Search for theses and dissertations from CSULA and other universities using OneSearch

Type search criteria like the subject, and hit 'Search' (ex. education).
Narrow the resource type to Theses & Dissertations
Select available in the library for print copies here at CSULA using the filters on the left hand side

In addition, check out these databases of digital theses and dissertations:

Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Student dissertations and theses in the humanities and social sciences, including education, from universities around the world.
ProQuest Open Access Content Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Open Access Content database provides full-text access to publicly available content, including peer-reviewed articles, conference papers & proceedings, dissertations & theses, magazines, newspapers, reports, audio/video clips, and more. The authors of these contents have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference

Encyclopedias can help you find general information on a wide variety of topics, browse for research topics, and establish background facts. Below are some examples of encyclopedias available at CSULA.

Asian American Chronology by Xiaojian Zhao
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313348754
Publication Date: 2009-06-30
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by Japanese-American National Museum Staff; Brian Niiya (Editor); Daniel K. Inouye (Foreword by)
Call Number: Level 2 North E184.J3 E53 2001
ISBN: 9780816040933
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Japanese Americans have played an important and largely unrecognized role in American history. Only in the last twenty years has a more complete story emerged
A Companion to Asian American Studies by Kent A. Ono (Editor)
Call Number: Level 2 North E184.A75 C66 2005
ISBN: 9781405115940
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
A Companion to Asian American Studies is comprised of 20 previously published essays that have played an important historical role in the conceptualization of Asian American studies as a field. Essays are drawn from international publications, from the 1970s to the present Includes coverage of psychology, history, literature, feminism, sexuality, identity politics, cyberspace, pop culture, queerness, hybridity, and diasporic consciousness Features a useful introduction by the editor reviewing the selections, and outlining future possibilities for the field Can be used alongside Asian American Studies After Critical Mass , edited by Kent A. Ono, for a complete reference to Asian American Studies.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by Edward L. Davis (Editor)
Call Number: Level 2 North DS779.23 .E53 2005
ISBN: 9780415241298
Publication Date: 2005-02-11
This is the first reference book to digest this vast cultural output and make it accessible to the English-speaking world. It contains nearly 1,200 entries written by an international team of specialists, to enable readers to explore a range of diverse and fascinating cultural subjects from prisons to rock groups, underground Christian churches to TV talk shows and radio hotlines. Experimental artists with names such as 'Big-Tailed Elephants' and 'The North-Pole Group' nestle between the covers alongside entries on lotteries, gay cinema, political jokes, sex shops, theme parks, 'New Authoritarians' and 'Little Emperors'. While the focus of the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture is on mainland China since 1980, it also includes longer, specially commissioned entries on various aspects of contemporary culture in Hong Kong and Taiwan. Including full and up-to-date references for further reading, this is an indispensable reference tool for all teachers and students of contemporary Chinese culture. It will also be warmly embraced as an invaluable source of cultural context by tourists, journalists, business people and others who visit China.
Southeast Asia by Ooi Keat Gin (Editor)
Call Number: Level 2 North DS524 .S68 2004
ISBN: 9781576077702
Publication Date: 2004-10-13
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. * Over 800 A-Z entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics from the Bataan Death March to the Ramayana * Contributions from an international panel of over 130 scholars * Illustrations, maps, and photographs that are informative, critical, and up to date * A chronology, bibliography, and index complete the coverage