LibGuides: Social Work: Community Assessment &amp; School Information

Neighborhood Information Resources

U.S. Census Bureau Data
Comprehensive, recent data about the United States.

The Census Bureau has created training videos to help you access Census data.

Statista Pro This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that provides statistics and data on over 1 million statistics and facts from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current statistics.

Mapping L. A. Neighborhoods
Brought to you by the Los Angeles Times. Includes individual maps and statistics for 158 cities and unincorporated places and 114 neighborhoods within the city of Los Angeles.
Los Angeles Almanac
This almanac includes statistical and narrative information about people, places, and other stories from Los Angeles County.
LA Unified School District Fingertip Fact Sheet
City of Los Angeles Water Quality Report
LA County Water Quality Report
Municipal water suppliers are required to publish a water quality report each year. The links above are for the LA city and county reports. If you are researching a different area, please check their water supplier's website for their annual report.

APA Citation for Mapping LA Neighborhoods

Below is a sample citation for Mapping LA Neighborhoods. I used the neighborhood South Gate for this example. Remember to double space your citation, and use a hanging indent.

Los Angeles Times. (2016). South Gate: Mapping LA neighborhoods. Retrieved from http://maps.latimes.com/neighborhoods/

California Schools

California Schools Directory
The California School Directory provides information and statistics about public and private schools.
California Dept. of Education Dataquest
DataQuest provides data and statistics about California's K-12 public school systems.

Databases

Historical Los Angeles Times
The full text of the LA Times from 1881-1989.

The nespapers below are good sources for finding information about cities and neighborhoods in the Los Angeles area.

Los Angeles Times
The fulltext of the L A Times from 1986 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes fulltext of La Opinion and the LA Sentinel.

Statistics

ChildStats.gov
Statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The mission of the DRC is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys. Data are collected from parents and thus contribute a much needed voice in the drive to improve the quality of health care for children and youth
Kids Count Data Center
National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the Centers for Disease Control, this site provides statistics about America's health.

Examples of Scholarly Articles

Qualitative Study	Quantitative Study	Literature Review	Meta-Analysis
Sample groups too small to analyze using statistics	Produces numerical results/ analyzed statistically	An article that provides an overview of important research on a particular topic	Reviews several quantitative studies analyzing them looking for patterns/ trends within data
Case Study	May involves experimentation	Considered scholarly but not primary research/ no new study is conducted	Uses existing studies
Interview	Survey/ questionnaire		Usually considered another form of quantitative research
Focus Groups

University Library

Social Work