Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Art

Art Images

ArtStor

ArtStor Digital Library provides over 1.6 million digital images with new image collections added several times a year. It covers many time periods and subjects including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.  The database can be searched by Keyword, Creator, Title, Location, Repository, Subject, Material, Style or Period, Work Type, Culture, Description, Technique, etc.

Alexander Street Video

AVON
Alexander Street Video (formerly AVON) includes over 67,000 titles offering documentary and educational films, newsreel and broadcast news features, historical films, and subject-specific video across many disciplines. Notable publishers include 60 Minutes, PBS, Film PlatformSony Pictures Classics, & more.  
For more information, visit this guide.

 
Please Note:  This is a Cal State LA resource.  You'll need to sign-in to use this database from off-campus. 

Information about streaming media accessibility can be found here.

Films On Demand

Films on DemandFilms on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from a long-established educational media distributor.  Films On Demand are not "Hollywood" movies. It is a collection of 22,403 videos that include documentaries, news footage, lectures, and educational videos.  Highlights include content from BBC, NOVA, Frontline, Ken Burns, California Newsreel, PBS, Reuters, and many more.
 

Finding Videos

In addition to the main search box which allows searching by title, or using keywords to search video segments, there is also an Advanced Search page which allows you to search for video content by Subject, Producer, Language, etc.  You can also limit your search to videos that are Closed Captioned, contain educator resources or interactive transcripts.

Please Note:  This is a Cal State LA resource.  You'll need to sign-in to use this database from off-campus.

Information about streaming media accessibility can be found here.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988