Cal State LA's library catalog, allowing search of the library's collections of print, electronic, and other materials, including Special Collections and Archives artifacts, board games, sensory kits, and more!
Sometimes called scholarly, peer-reviewed, or academic, these terms all refer to journals that require review by a group of experts in the field before an article can be published. These experts are looking for things like appropriate methodology, proper research and citations, advancements to the field, etc. These articles are typically for other scholars with a high level of knowledge in the area of publication. The purpose is typically to advance the field of study and share developments made by scholars.
Look for the option in databases to narrow your search by peer-reviewed or scholarly.
Learn more about the process video from the University of Kansas: Peer Review In Three Minutes
Popular articles are written for a general audience. These articles can inform, entertain, give the opinions of individuals, talk about current events, sell products, or generate money. News, magazines, blogs, social media, TV shows, opinion articles, and many kinds of websites fit into this category.
Trade or professional journals are intended to share practice information with professionals and practitioners in a profession. These articles are usually chosen for publication by an editor and not a group of experts. They may also include advertisements and flashy images that you don't usually see in peer-reviewed journals.
Peer-reviewed articles in literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), linguistics, the history of publishing, and teaching in all these areas.
Peer-reviewed articles on art, film, music, world literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
After submitting a search, use the filters on the left side under "Available at Cal State LA" to narrow your search to Full-Text Online, and Books under Resource Type (you may have to click show more to see books).
Under "Full text available at," click the link to access the book. Check the user options- some books have unlimited access, but others can only be used by one person at a time and may require you to check back after the other reader has left the book.
With Google Scholar, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.
Be sure to link Google Scholar to the Cal State LA Library to get free access to many library resources.
To access the library resources, click on the links in the right-hand column, like Find it @ CalState LA.
