LibGuides: Sociology: Newspapers

Newsstream

Major Newspapers Databases - Links to major newspapers databases.

Global Newsstream
Up-to-date global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:

Other Newspapers

Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) - Historical Los Angeles Times offers completely searchable full text and full image coverage from 1881-1993.

Los Angeles Times (1996- current)

Southern California's largest daily newspaper. For electronic access to the historical segment of Los Angeles Time from 1881 to 1994, use Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) or Historical Los Angeles Times.

New York Times (1851-2013)- The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Times (1980-present) - New York Times (1980-present) delivers global breaking news, 24/7 updates, and opinions in all subjects.

Chicago Defender (Nov 22, 1999 - present)

Afro-American (Baltimore) (2003 - present)

Los Angeles Sentinel (2003 - present)

New York Amsterdam News (1994 - present )

Ethnic Newspapers & Magazines

Ethnic NewsWatch
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Peer-reviewed articles on several core subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology. Provides topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, and history.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
Covers nearly 400 popular and general interest magazines.