LibGuides: Communication Studies: Find Articles (Databases)

Communication Studies Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, non-scholarly articles, and other sources covering all communication-related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
Communications and Mass Media, by Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Multidiscipline Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.

Library OneSearch
Subjects: MANY
Description: Easiest way to search most of the library's literature/articles holdings at once. Large multidisciplinary database containing scholarly and non scholarly articles, books, ebooks and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
CSULA Google Scholar
Google Scholar links to scholarly articles and books outside of the resources owned by Cal State LA. You may need to ask a librarian for help retrieving full text of articles found here.

Other Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The core psychology database, with peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on all aspects of human psychology.

Debate Resources

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Brief articles covering the lives and work of international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

News Databases

News, by Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) This link opens in a new window
Historical back issues of the newspaper including all articles, editorials, classified ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps, and graphics. For electronic access to current Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present, use Los Angeles Times (1985-present).
New York Times - Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
New users MUST register first for free access!
See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times website and the NYT mobile app!

Also access Cooking, Games, and The Athletic!
The New York Times Digital Edition (nytimes.com web access and app access) is available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff, courtesy of the University Library. Access articles from 1851-present, interactive graphics, videos, podcasts, digitized images, and more!
The New York Times Cooking, Games, and The Athletic are also available to all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff for one year from the date of your activation. Please note that a decision to continue with paid subscriptions to these sections will be evaluated based on usage and available funding.
See our New York Times LibGuide for more information!
New Users - Get Access!
1. Go to accessnyt.com to register.
2. Follow the step-by-step instructions to create a new account.
Note: If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in through the library's authentication site using your MyCalStateLA credentials.
3. Make sure to sign up using your Cal State LA email address.
4. After registration is complete, log into www.nytimes.com or through the NYT mobile app to start using your free subscription.
***If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
See our New York Times LibGuide for information on what to do if you have an already existing NYT subscription or information about the NYT App!

Research Design and Methodology

Sage Research Methods Suite This link opens in a new window
Includes Sage Research Methods, Sage Research Methods Cases, and Sage Research Methods Datasets. Sage Research Methods is a research methods tool and links Sage's book, journal, and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools.
SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of hundreds of case studies of real social research. SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences.
Sage Research Methods is a reseaerch methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Sage Research Methods links over 200,000 pages of Sage's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, counduct their research, adn write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of hundreds of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to support teaching and learning in research
methods. Each case is written to help students understand the often abstract-feeling methodological concepts by seeing how methods have been used in actual projects.

SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from larger national and international data sources, cleaned and reduced in size and complexity for teaching and self-study purposes, perfect for researchers, learning a new method, or brushing up on a familiar one.

Guide

Sage Research Methods Libguide