LibGuides: Latin America: Peer-Reviewed Articles

Top Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on world history (1450 to present), excluding the U.S. and Canada. Special search functions include searching by historical time period.
Coverage: 1955-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
Spanish- and Portuguese-language peer-reviewed articles. It provides journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain covering all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology, and sociology.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Gives overviews of some of today's most pressing issues on a global stage. Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—updated daily.
Global Issues in Context offers access to 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.
HAPI This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides citations to peer-reviewed articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinx communities in the U.S. since the late 1960s. Includes content from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. About 80% of indexed titles include links to full text sources.
Coverage: 1970-present
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
Articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in Spanish and Portuguese both from and about Latin America.
Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. No full text.
Coverage: 1935-present

Open Access Journals

Many scholarly journals in Latin America are Open Access, meaning free to read without a subscription. These search tools are a great place to find articles in a wide range of subjects in Spanish and Portuguese, that are not listed in U.S. based databases.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Multi-Subject
more...less...
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online
The SciELO collection is continually updated and includes scholarly peer reviewed journals, from Spain, Portugal, several South American countries and Cuba, which predominantly publish the results of original research, and other original works.
REDIB: Red Iberoamericana
Provides access to high quality scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The titles are in Spanish and are published in Spain and Latin America.
Redalyc
The Redalyc project is a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals, supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México with the help of numerous other higher education institutions and information systems.

Top Latin American Studies Journals

Bulletin of Latin American Research
Full Text 1997-Current
The Bulletin of Latin American Research (BLAR) publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the
Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Journal of Latin American Studies
Full Text 1997-Current
Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in history, economic history, economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology and cultural history.
Latin American Perspectives
Full Text 1999-Current
Back issues also available through OneSearch. Latin American Perspectives is a theoretical and scholarly journal for discussion and debate on the political economy of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas.
Latin American Politics and Society
Full Text 2001-Current
Latin American Politics and Society publishes the highest-quality original social science scholarship on Latin America.
Mexican Studies
Available from 1985, Most recent 4 year(s) not availableThe rich cultural production, economy, political legacy, and unique peoples of Mexico lay the foundation for the bilingual Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos, the only U.S. published academic journal of its kind.
Canadian journal of Latin American and Caribbean studies.
Full Text 1984-2014
Founded in 1976, the Canadian Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CJLACS) publishes distinguished research and debates on Latin America and the Caribbean. It publishes peer-reviewed articles based on original research, in English, French, Portuguese and Spanish.

Country Information

Country Watch
CIA World Factbook
Library of Congress Country Studies Collection
Primarily for historical research. Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Global Issues in Context
Brings together different kinds of sources to show different perspectives on issues that matter on a global scale.

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.

Be sure to link Google Scholar to the Cal State LA Library to get free access to many library resources.

To access the library resources, click on the links in the right-hand column, like Find it @ CalState LA.

University Library

Latin America

Top Databases

Open Access Journals

Top Latin American Studies Journals

Country Information

Google Scholar