When researching nutritional studies, there are a variety of sources available to you. The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.
If you need scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia.
If you need help figuring out where to begin, you may always contact me at adobry@calstatela.edu or schedule an appointment at the bottom of this page.
Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.
There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the reference collection on the 3rd floor of Library South (Palmer Wing).
Foods & nutrition encyclopedia: (Volumes 1 & 2) TX349 .F575 1994
Food for health: a nutrition encyclopedia: TX349 .E475 2002
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition: (Volumes 1-10) TX349 .E63 2003
Encyclopedia of human nutrition: (Volumes 1-4) QP141 .E526 2005
Encyclopedia of obesity: (Volumes 1 & 2) RC628 .E53 2008
Even though you can find journal articles in the Library's databases, below are some essential journals for this area that are available electronically. To find the journals, search the journal title within the OneSearch Journal Search.
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Annual Review of Nutrition
Clinical Nutrition
European Journal of Nutrition
Food Chemistry
Journal of food science: An official publication of the Institute of Food Technologists.
International Journal of Obesity
Journal of Nutrition
Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity
Journal of Food Science