Covers news, culture and history of ethnic and minority issues (English/Espanol) in over 200 publications, minority and native press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals.
Articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.
Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics, and other social topics with an African-American focus. It provides a broad view of culture, fashion, and entertainment. Jet Magazine is published by John H. Johnson of Johnson Publishing Company in Chicago, Illinois. Open access via Google Books.
Coverage: November 1951 ~ October 20, 2008.
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975): A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspaper Collection.
Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It provides a broad view of African-American culture. EBONY is published by John H. Johnson of Johnson Publishing Company in Chicago, Illinois. Open access via Google Books.
Coverage: November 1959 ~ December 2008.
The collection Module 48 documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police.
Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. At a time when social justice is a prevalent topic, this three-part collection is an invaluable resource for exploring issues of equity, race, and related topics. The collection includes two series: Series 1 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction; Series 2 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. Updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries.
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors Online and Contemporary Authors Online New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors Online allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
The African-American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together biographies, rare books, and historical information on thousands of African-Americans--many not found in any other reference source.
