LibGuides: Information Systems: Getting Started

Introduction

This guide will help you manage the research and information needs of the Information Systems class.

If you have questions or need help, feel free to email Business and Economics Librarian Summer Peng at summer@calstatela.edu or visit during office hours.

Links to Business Literature Databases

Links to library databases for searching the literature (scholarly, popular and trade/industry) on business topics:

Business Source Premier
Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles.
Google Scholar
Use this to link to Google Scholar and include links to Cal State LA Library paid content
RefWorks
Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This database provides U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents answers to top market research questions, and is used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format.

Most Useful Places to Search

IEEE
The IEEE Xplore digital library provides full-text access to high-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related technology disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from other publishers, including MIT Press, IBM, Nokia Bell Labs, VDE Verlag, Morgan & Claypool.

Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals.
Providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

OneSearch, the Library Discovery Tool
OneSearch is the Cal State LA Library's search tool you'll use to find resources available through the library. It searches many of the library databases and is a great tool to use when you are still exploring a topic or have an exact title of an item in mind. When searching OneSearch, you can find many different resource types, including those listed below.

Print and E-Books
Datasets
Journals and Journal Articles
Videos
Audio
& More!

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a discovery platform that includes access to Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index), a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 5000 engineering journals and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1969-present.

Questions about business basics? Start here!

Business research and analysis can be difficult if you are new to certain areas. For example, if you work primarily in marketing but need to deal with a finance related issue you could spend an enormous amount of time just identifying relevant concepts and what they mean. Here are my favorite sites for 'ramping up' quickly and easily when I am new to an area or concept.

Portable MBA

The Portable MBA

Great E-book that can fill in the gaps or refresh your knowledge regarding most business concepts. Excellent chapter on business analysis and valuation of companies as well as good information regarding all functional areas (marketing, strategy, accounting, financce, cis etc.)

University Library

Information Systems

B&E Librarian

Introduction

Links to Business Literature Databases

Most Useful Places to Search

Questions about business basics? Start here!

Portable MBA