LibGuides: ENGL 3100: Readings on the English Language: Find Articles

Key Databases for English

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in literature, language, folklore, and linguistics - over 4,000 U.S. and international journals.
Coverage: 1880s to present

The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including
- Literature from any country and in any language
- Literary theory and criticism
- Dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater)
- Folklore
- Linguistics
- College-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition
- History of printing and publishing
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered

Pedagogy & Teaching

Education Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides over 750 periodicals including 450 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This link opens in a new window
This database provides index of over 220 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It covers key education topics.
Subjects Include
- Assessment
- Best practices
- Continuing education
- Current pedagogical research
- Curriculum development
- Elementary education
- Higher education
- Instructional media
- Language arts
- Literacy standards
- School administration
- Science and mathematics
- Teacher education
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes with abstracts of journal articles, unpublished reports, and other documents in education and related topics.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college.
Subject area coverage: educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding and policy.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Coves the field of linguistics and its various sub-disciplines, LLBA primarily abstracts articles from approximately 2,600 periodicals published worldwide. It also abstracts monographs, recent books, technical reports and more.
Subjects Covered
- Anthropological Linguistics
- Applied Linguistics
- Descriptive Linguistics
- Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics
- Hearing and Speech Physiology
- Hearing - Pathological and Normal
- History of Linguistics
- Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
- Language Classification
- Language - Pathological and Normal
- Learning Disabilities
- Lexicography / Lexicology
- Mental Retardation
- Morphology
- Nonverbal Communication
- Orthography, Writing Systems
- Philosophy of Language
- Phonetics
- Phonology
- Poetics / Literary Theory
- Psycholinguistics
- Psychometrics
- Semantics
- Semiotics
- Sociolinguistics
- Special Education
- Syntax
- Theory of Linguistics
- Typology
Guides:
- IDS Search Help: Overview
- LLBA Fact Sheet

Find Articles in OneSearch

Search for articles in OneSearch if you:

1) Have an interdisciplinary, experimental, or very specific topic and are having trouble finding articles in a database.

2) Have a topic in mind and are not sure which database would be best.

3) Know the title of the exact article you are looking for and need to find it.

Note: OneSearch does not search all databases, so you may miss some articles.

OneSearch: Basic Search How to do a basic search for an article in OneSearch.
OneSearch: Advanced Search How to do an advanced search to find articles.

Is this Journal Peer-Reviewed?

Peer-review means the journal publishes articles that have been reviewed by 3-5 experts over the course of 3-9 months.

Click the journal title in a database and look for information about peer review.
If you cannot find information about the journal through the database, try looking up the journal through the resources below.
Google search the journal and look at the Editorial guidelines, which should always specify the peer review process.

Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's is an authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 30,000 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and that are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.

Journal Search
Search the Cal State LA Library for a Journal by name.

University Library

ENGL 3100: Readings on the English Language

Key Databases for English

Pedagogy & Teaching

Find Articles in OneSearch

Is this Journal Peer-Reviewed?