Changes

Journal Search

The long-awaited Journal Search by Category/Subject is finally here.  Additionally, Journal Search on Primo VE allows you to search for articles within a journal and has an auto-complete feature when you type in a journal title in the search box.

You can access Journal Search by clicking the Journals link on the homepage below the OneSearch box or directly using the OneSearch's Journal Search box.

Facets

Facets are items displayed on the left side of the Brief Results page that allow users to filter their search results by a specific category (such as resource type, Subject, Author, etc.).  We have added the following facets on the Facet panel:

• Databases -- Displays a list of available databases that carry articles matching the search terms.  You can access these databases from the list.
   
• New Records -- Provides library new acquisitions in the following three intervals: last three months, last month, and last week.  

A change you may observe is that items within Primo VE Available at Cal State LA facet don't show number counts.  "This is because the numbers were found not to be accurate" (SJSU, 2021).

Classic Primo

Primo VE

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library, San Jose State University,  2021. Primo VE Migration for OneSearch. https://libguides.sjsu.edu/primo-ve. 

Course
Reserves Search

The search option on the dropdown list in current OneSearch for Course Reserves is available as a link below the OneSearch box when we launch Primo VE and as a menu item on Primo VE search interface as shown below.

Course Reserves as a Search option on the current interface

Course Reserves Search as a Link from the Library homepage when launching Primo VE

Course Reserves as a menu item on Primo VE

Newspapers 

You can search and access newspaper articles on OneSearch results via the Newspaper Search link on Facets or at the bottom of the brief results display.

You can access individual newspaper databases via the Databases link from the Library homepage, and select Newspapers from the All Database Types box.

Encyclopedia Article

An encyclopedia article is added to the top of the brief search result page to provide background information for the topic searched. 

The Voice Search Assistant allows users to enter search terms using their device's microphone. After selecting the Microphone icon, users can begin speaking search terms or select a different language for the system to detect. If no input is detected for 10 seconds, the system will provide a message and then prompt the user to provide audio input two more times before timing out and exiting the voice search assistant. If audio is detected, Primo will display the relevant search results.

Please note: This feature is available for browsers that support the Speech Recognition interface of the Web Speech API.  Currently, it is available on Chrome and Edge.  It is not available on Firefox. 

If the Voice Search Assistant is available, you should see a microphone icon in the search box as shown below. 

Quicklinks enables you to see links to the PDF and HTML full text directly in the brief display in OneSearch, This provides a convenient and quick way to access full text with a single click.

We often have access to several platforms for the same item. However, with Quicklinks, we only show one link of each type (PDF and HTML). Users who are familiar with the different platforms and prefer to select a link themselves can continue to do this from the full view of the record.