Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.
Provides over 750 periodicals including 450 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Full text coverage begins in 1994, abstracting begins in 1984 and indexing begins in 1983.
This database provides index of over 220 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It covers key education topics.
Indexes with abstracts of journal articles, unpublished reports, and other documents in education and related topics.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
PubMed comprises over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in library subscription databases, from PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
GUIDES:
The PubMed User Guide provides the information in search, cite, save, share, and other areas. Please visit the Guide for guidance. To learn more about how to navigate PubMed, visit PubMed Tutorial.
Indexes articles in medicine, microbiology, nursing, psychiatry, public health, sports medicine, and more - over 4,800 journals (Note: Full-text linking available on and off campus). Medline is also available via OCLC, and at PubMed.
Index with abstracts to more than 4,500 journals published worldwide in 30 languages, covering all areas of medicine (including nursing, public health, pharmacy, sports medicine, psychiatry, dentistry, veterinary medicine, etc.).
Look up all the abbreviated journal names used in MEDLINE in List of Journals Indexed in Index Medicus/MEDLINE.
1966 to date. Updated monthly.
Includes access to over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters.
The database, PTSDpubs covers post-traumatic stress disorder or acute stress disorder, assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder, and more.
PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Subject Coverage
Post-traumatic stress disorder or acute stress disorder (with or without reference to the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
The assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder, especially dissociative identity disorder (formerly called multiple personality disorder), other dissociative disorders, or borderline personality disorder, associated etiologically or epidemiologically with exposure to a traumatic event, or to an event experienced as traumatic by the population under discussion
The preparation or provision of mental health services to a traumatized population or a population at risk of experiencing traumatic events
issues of professional ethics, scientific methodology, or public policy relating to traumatized populations
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 14 million peer-reviewed publications..
Features:
Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier. At CSULA our use of this database permits access to over 900 Elsevier journals in full-text online format
The 900 full-text journals represent all Elsevier journals currently under (print) subscription at all CSU and University of California libraries. These libraries represent the consortium which negotiated this ScienceDirect database subscription. We are not permitted full-text access to the remaining 200 Elsevier journal titles in this collection, but users can retrieve citations and abstracts from these journals using the collection's search interface
Coverage: Varies from January 1995 - the present; most titles are from 1998 - the present
Provides indexing and abstracting for criminal justice, forensic science, law enforcement, corrections, and more - over 175 journals and about 45 are available full-text online to the researcher.
The subjects covered represent the entire range of criminal justice topics including: criminal law and behavioral sciences, criminal procedure, corrections, search and seizure, evidence, family law, forensic sciences, policing practices and procedures, quantitative issues and research methods, social science issues and law enforcement, trends and innovations in law enforcement, victims' rights, etc. Coverage: Varies; most titles from 1986 - the present. A variety of help options are available:
Provides indexing and abstracting for criminal justice, forensic science, law enforcement, corrections, and more - over 175 journals and about 45 are available full-text online to the researcher.
The subjects covered represent the entire range of criminal justice topics including: criminal law and behavioral sciences, criminal procedure, corrections, search and seizure, evidence, family law, forensic sciences, policing practices and procedures, quantitative issues and research methods, social science issues and law enforcement, trends and innovations in law enforcement, victims' rights, etc. Coverage: Varies; most titles from 1986 - the present. A variety of help options are available:
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI), a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window