LibGuides: ENGL 3940: Grant Writing: Statistics

Statistical Database @ the Library

Sage Data CORE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources.
The database allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. LibGuides: http://data-planet.libguides.com

There are over 250 LibGuides on a variety of states, countries, and content.

LA Department of Public Health
Includes public health reports, statistical data from health surveys, and other significant health rates such as mortality, substance use disorder, sexual health, and much more.
CA Department of Public Health
If you select a topic or program, websites focused on certain topics (e.g., HIV) will provide useful datasets (e.g., HIV surveillance data).
CA Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR): Office of Research
The Office of Research is responsible for producing a variety of reports, including projections of the adult, parole, and juvenile populations; statistical summaries of CDCR’s populations and recidivism reporting.
CA Department of Education: DataQuest
A database of CA DOE data by state, city, and district level.
LA County: Complete List of Departments and Bureaus
Need something more? Look for LA data by visiting the departmental websites listed in this directory.

U.S. Census: Data Main Page
Excellent place to find and compare location data on race/ethnicity, health insurance status, language spoken, household income, poverty, educational attainment, employment status, and much more. Search using keywords (e.g., "language spoken") or use the Advanced Search option to browse data sets by topic.
Pew Research Center: Datasets
Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.
Data.gov
Explore U.S. data by searching with keywords or exploring topics on the main bar, including agriculture, older adults, climate, and more.
Google Public Data
Search across popular public data sets using keywords.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes data on crime and recidivism.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides information about U.S. employment trends, including job market forecasts for careers, income brackets, unemployment rates, and more.
National Center for Education Statistics
Consolidates census and DOE data in useful datasets around demographics, economics, and geography.
U.S. Department of Education: Data & Statistics
Includes data on drop-out rates by district, graduation rates, enrollment rates, student performance on assessments, and other K-12 student outcomes data, as well as average incomes for young adults.