LibGuides: ENGL 3940: Grant Writing: Find Funding (Prospect Research)

All Grant Types: Search Pivot

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Search for funding opportunities in this comprehensive database that includes foundation and government grants.
Registration: Please make sure to select the “Use Email Address/Create Password” option and use your Cal State LA email address to register.
A wealth of additional resources about Pivot including Quick Start Guide, training materials and videos can be found using these links.

If you have any issues with accessing and using Pivot you can get help from the Pivot Support team by using this form or emailing pivot.support@exlibrisgroup.com.

Pivot QuickStart Guide Instructions on how to register, search using keywords, do advanced searches, use filters to narrow results, etc.
Worksheet

Foundations

You may want to find out more about a Foundation you read about through Pivot, a newsletter, or a website. Investigating a funder profile is called "prospect research." You'll want to answer several questions, includign:

What type of grants (if any) do they give? To what causes?
Where do they give grants?
Do they accept grant applications by invitation only? If so, see if they accept Letters of Intent, which are letters you can submit to foundations to express interest and try to get an invitation.

Resources for answering these questions:

Pivot. The library database offers profiles of funders and much more in-depth information not available for free to the public!

Foundation Websites. Many times, foundations and corporate grant makers will not have websites.

GuideStar. Non-profit organizations are required to share their 990s with the public, which includes information about the organization. 990s also list organizations the funder has awarded grants to in previous years if any.

Broad List of LA Foundations A broad list of foundations that give in the LA area and are located in the LA area. Want to learn more about a foundation? Search for them in Pivot (library database) and search for the foundation websites.

Government Grants

Grants.gov
Description: Find federal grants that align with your work.
Registration: No registration required to search for grants.
BidSync
Description: Search for county and city bids (including grants for healthcare and social services).
Registration: Click "try for free" and then enter your information. Include hypothetical organizational information if you do not work for an agency currently.
LA Department of Public Health
Description: Search all LADPH grants and contracts page to find opportunities. Includes LADPH agencies and programs such as SAPC, Division of Chronic Diseases Prevention, etc.
Registration: None required.
CA Department of Public Health
Description: The agencies that fall under the CADPH will frequently post grant opportunities on their pages.
Registration: None.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Agency (SAMHSA) Grants
Description: SAMHSA announces grant funding opportunities through Funding Opportunity Announcements (FOAs). Each FOA contains all the information you need to apply for a grant.
Registration: None

Using Grants Databases & Websites

University Library

ENGL 3940: Grant Writing

All Grant Types: Search Pivot

Foundations

Government Grants