Create interactive digital maps with pinned archival or open web images, video, and text. Digital maps; digital tours; digital collections. Great for class and group assignments.
The reference databases below are Online Encyclopedias. They are better alternatives to Wikipedia! You can look up quick facts or overviews to places, people, historical events, and more.
Britannica OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOnline full-text, multimedia encyclopedia with thousands of "cross-referencing" Internet links.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
This link opens in a new window
Gale Biography In ContextThis link opens in a new windowBiography In Context provides access to more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures.
This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can also search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the very latest information.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window