Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Shakespeare and Early Modern Literature

Designed to assist students studying Shakespeare

Accessing an Article

This button or a version of it appears in many databases. Some databases provide access to full-texts only (such as JSTOR). Others provide full-texts and also index works in a specific field of study. For example, if you search in the MLA International Bibliography, you will see both full-text articles and links to those that may be available through another database. 

Click the "find it" to see if we have it.

When you click the Find It button, you will see one of two things:

1. "Full text is available at: Some Database" - click the link and look for the full-text PDF button.

2. "No full text available." If you see this, you can "request this article" through interlibrary loan. See box below.

 

Interlibrary Loan

How to Order Items for Free

If Cal State LA does not have an article or book chapter, or if you are unable to access the physical copy, you can request an electronic copy through iLLiad. iLLiad is part of our Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan =

  • CSU Collections (aka CSU+): Delivers physical books and dvds from other CSUs for free.
  • iLLiad: Request electronic versions of articles and book chapters for free! (never pay for an article). If CSU+ does not have a book you need, you can also use iLLiad to request a book delivery from a non-CSU University.

The iLLiad sign-on screen is pictured below. First-time users will need to register.

Once you are signed in, you may see an auto-populated form ready to submit (if you came to iLLiad from a "request this article" link). Otherwise, you need to fill out a form to submit a "New Request" (see image below).

You may request any number of articles, and up to 2 book chapters per book (due to copyright). If you would like two book chapters from the same book scanned and emailed to you, complete one form per book chapter.

iLLiad Video Tutorial

Bookmarking or Saving Articles

Recommended steps for saving articles:

  • Once you find a source, click the "cite" button. 
  • Paste the citation in a word document. (These citations may not be 100% accurate, so you'll need to double-check them later).

To find the source, type the title of the article or book in OneSearch, which will search across 80% of the library's collection.

  • If it doesn't show up in OneSearch, try Google Scholar.
  • If you can't find it through OneSearch or Google Scholar, you'll need to go to the database you found it in (e.g., JSTOR). The citation will typically include a link that indicates the database.

Other options for saving sources:

  • Pin them to your OneSearch account.
  • Use a Citation Manager (RefWorks) to save all your citations and stable links in one place! RefWorks is free for all Cal State LA students. Highly recommended.
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988