Skip to Main Content
university logo

University Library

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Report a Database Issue
Database Basics

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
The collection Module 48 documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police.
This archive provides an interdisciplinary collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of African Americans, covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day. Researchers can explore a breadth of experiences ranging from U.S. nation-building in Liberia to Freedom Riders, the Rastafari movement, and FBI surveillance.
This database contains manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. It includes a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
The collection includes a diverse collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canadathe. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Navajo languages.
Coverage: 1828-2016
This database consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and Records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home and more.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed, and searchable in Spanish and English.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
This historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable content covering the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Date Coverage: 1868-1984
Birds of the World (BOW) is a database of species accounts of the world’s birds. Each account contains information on distinguishing characteristics, distribution, systematics, behavior, ecology, demography, conservation, and priorities for future research.
This primary source collection details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
This newest Black Freedom module includes the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and the NAACP.
Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. At a time when social justice is a prevalent topic, this three-part collection is an invaluable resource for exploring issues of equity, race, and related topics. The collection includes two series: Series 1 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction; Series 2 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.
Civil War Era contains newspapers (1840-1865) and two pamphlets covering a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement.
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.
Docuseek Documentary Collection contains over 2,000 documentary films including the Good Docs collection with a focus on social and environmental issues.
EBSCO Ethnic Diversity Source Database is a full-text database covering the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Hispanic Life in America is a comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. Replete with material unavailable elsewhere, this two-series collection is sourced from more than 17,000 global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications, dating from 1704 to 2009. Series 1 1704-1942: Spanish colonialism through World War II. Series 2 1943-2009: Immigration, labor rights and civil rights.
Indigenous Peoples of North America integrates a collection of newspapers, manuscripts, drawings and sketches, photographs, maps, periodicals, monographs, reports, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century.
The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
This database contains records on a wide scope of NAACP activism and interest. Files cover subjects and episodes that are crucial to the NAACP's history, such as civil rights complaints and legislation, the Klan, Birth of a Nation, the Walter White-W. E. B. Du Bois controversy of 1933-1934, communism and anticommunism during the years of the "red scare," the congressional prosecution of Hollywood personalities, the prosecution of conscientious objectors during World War II, NAACP’s relations with African colonial liberation movements, NAACP fundraising and membership recruitment, urban riots, the War on Poverty, and the emergence of the Black Power Movement.
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages including: autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Fifty-four volumes, representing 15,000 pages, are from the 18th and 19th centuries alone.
Political Extremism and Radicalism: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century contains over 600,000 pages of content and 42 oral histories making it the most extensive resource of its kind. The database offers a diverse range of content, including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera.
Queer Pasts is a collection of curated primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, embracing LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. Particular focus is given to perspectives from people of color, trans people, and people with disabilities.
Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, and segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
Coverage: 1943-1970
This archive contains documentation from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and Justice Department. These collections also feature materials about world communism and the evolution of the American militia movement.
The database consists of reports, speeches, correspondence, and research materials from the Children's Bureau, the first federal agency dedicated entirely to protecting the welfare of children and families. The documents in this collection span the years from its creation in 1912 through 1969 and originate from the administrative files of bureau staff members, including the bureau's chiefs throughout the years: Julia Lathrop, Grace Abbott, Katharine Lenroot, Martha Eliot, and Katherine Oettinger.
Date Coverage: 1912-1969
This database consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society, and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana. The collections focus on the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, and the Early National Period, with some collections extending into the Civil War era.
New
Sage eBook Collection includes approximately 5,500 scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks with a strong focus on social science.
The newspaper includes full-text and full-image articles in downloadable PDF files. It covers news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Date Coverage: 1865-1922
New
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, datasets, and funding data dating back to 1970. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts, and humanities. Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
This database brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today. It offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade. Material types include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, images and more.
The SpingerLink eBook Collection contains over 40,000 ebook titles and a range of subjects are represented. These subjects include behavioral science and psychology, biomedical and life sciences, business and management, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, economics and finance, education, energy, engineering, history, intelligent technologies and robotics, law and criminology, literature, cultural and media studies, mathematics and statistics, medicine, philosophy and religion, physics and astronomy, political science and international studies, professional and applied computing, and social sciences.
All ebooks are unlimited access, can be downloaded, and printed.

MyCopy is the Print-on-Demand eBooks feature offered to our students and faculty. You can order a print copy of any non-reference ebook titles that we have access to for $24.99 including shipping and handling.
This database comprises records of three women’s rights organizations: the National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance.
This collection of materials from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College tells the story of the fight for voting rights for women at the national, regional, and local levels. The papers of key national leaders like Julia Ward Howe, Anna Howard Shaw, and Matilda Gage are included.
This database includes records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Records of the War Department Operations Division, U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports, President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Map Room Files, Records of the Office of War Information, Papers of the War Refugee Board, George C. Marshall Papers, and several other collections documenting U.S. planning and participation in World War II.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988